More on Adoptees as Parents

I’ve been mulling over this topic for a while now…as a doula, I witness the birth of new families all the time. As an adoptee, I can’t help but wonder how this experience of becoming a parent might carry a different meaning for adoptees.

What is it like to become pregnant when your mother hasn’t experienced pregnancy?  What is it like to look into your child’s eyes and recognize yourself in someone else for the first time in your life?  Does becoming a parent kindle a desire to search for birthparents? How does becoming a parent change your perspective on your childhood and the way you were raised?  Does it make a difference, or not at all?

I’m hoping to find other adult adoptees who are parents who would be willing to share their stories for an article I’m writing for Adoption Mosaic’s magazine, The Adoption Constellation.  For me, it’s really important that the adoption community and general public hear stories from adult adoptees.  So often, when people hear the word adoption, they think of children. But adults are still living and growing with their identities as adoptees…and often, from the stories I’ve heard so far, becoming a parent is a major turning point in their relationship with their adoption.  I feel it’s important for those stories to be shared as well, so that we can understand more about the whole life experience of adoptees, not just the first 18 years.

If you or anyone you know would be interested in sharing experiences around adoptee identity and parenthood, please feel free to contact me.  I will be conducting interviews through October.

2 responses to “More on Adoptees as Parents

  1. I wish I had seen this a few weeks ago! I am an adoptee who is pregnant now, although my biological mother contacted me a few years ago and my parents (the people who raised me) are now deceased, adding some unique dimensions to my entire experience. I look forward to seeing the article, though.

Leave a Reply

