Couleur de peau miel

Most of the time I don’t regret that I stopped studying French after high school and did Spanish instead.  But every once in a while, something will come up in French, like this new film about a Korean adoptee in France, that makes me wish I had kept up with it.

One thing that many people don’t know is that there are Korean adoptees all over the world. I myself didn’t learn this until after college (I know!)…and had a brief period when I couldn’t help myself in thinking “Seriously? I could have grown up in Paris?!” I suppose one could say that you could have born into any family…but as an adoptee it somehow feels different. Someone sat down at a desk in Seoul, or Daegu (where I was born) and made the decision that I would go to an American family instead of a French one. Or Swedish, or Dutch, or Belgian…

In any case. The film looks beautiful, et j’ai besoin de practiquer le français. Or, hope for subtitles.

Leave a Reply

