Geographies of Kinship…and the power of community

Deann Borshay Liem’s Kickstarter for her newest documentary Geographies of Kinship has 71 hours and less than $5,000 to go…if you haven’t checked it out already, you should!  If you have, consider upping your contribution to make this last milepost!

Since first hearing about this documentary, I’ve been watching the response in the adoptee community and feeling so incredibly proud of the groundswell of support. The list of outreach supporters for this film is huge, and reflects the diversity of the Korean adoptee community across the US and Europe. Nearly 500 people have backed this project.

As I prepare for my own journey back to Korea this September, I’ve been thinking a lot about how valuable it’s been to have my story reflected in film and literature. Discovering Deann’s previous films First Person Plural and In the Matter of Cha Jung Hee were important moments for me as I started the process of a file search in 2007.

As important as these films are for adoptees like me, I think they will have even greater significance to the general public.  Deann’s films push beyond the surface of the stories heard in the news and allow us to explore the complexity of what it means to live as an adoptee. More broadly, she explores the profound ways in which we give meaning to home and family. These are universal human experiences that we can all relate to, whether we are adopted or not.

I’ve already made my contribution, and I ask that you do the same.  Let’s get this last $5,000 today, so she can start the next stage of her work. I can’t wait to see this film!

One response to “Geographies of Kinship…and the power of community

Leave a Reply

