Home [Again]

Lake Harriet

After spring travels to Mexico, NYC, Boston, and Madison, I’m back home to the “Land of Gazillion Adoptees” (who are up to some kick-azz stuff, btw!)…aka Minnesota. It’s been over a year since my last visit and it feels good to be here. Travelling this spring has been food for the soul…after a long winter in Portland I was capital-R ready for some time anywhere else. Three weeks in Mexico was great. I got to practice my Spanish tons…and then in NYC I got to connect with other rad nursing students from around the country dedicated to full spectrum reproductive health care. And then, of course, there’s Boston, city of my heart, where I got to visit college friends and have those long rambly conversations about life, the universe, and everything.

All this gallivanting about was followed by a few days back in Portland to refuel and repack (winter boots or a swimsuit? better pack both!), I jetted off to Madison to visit B’s grandma and some other extended family. This visit has been both beautiful and sad at the same time…B’s grandma is getting up there in years, so every moment is one I treasure. I brought a digital recorder with me to tape some of our conversations. Leaving E. yesterday morning was one of the hardest things I’ve had to do lately…and it was made all the more difficult by the fact that I’m not sure when I’ll be able to get back to Madison again. It’s definitely made me think about family lately, their role in my life and how things are shifting as we all get older. There’s another post brewing in there somewhere, but not ready to be written yet.

Being back home is always an exercise of balance for me…it’s easy to fill up the trip with visits with people…and that’s (almost) always fun. But this time I’ve tried to set aside some time for myself, too. This will be my last big trip before I start nursing/midwifery school in June. Many friends have offered the wise advice to relax as much as possible and  prioritize self-care, both physical and emotional. It’s been good to reconnect with friends, especially those in the adoption community, as I’m still processing and reflecting on my time in Korea last September.

Among the fun items lined up for this week:

 

Leave a Reply

